Selectboard Meeting Minutes Otis Town Hall Conference Room Tuesday, June 13, 2023, at 6:30 PM

This meeting will be held in person at the location provided on this notice. Members of the public are welcome to attend. A remote option is offered via zoom with the link provided below.

Please note that while an option for remote participation is being provided as a courtesy, the meeting will not be suspended or terminated if technological problems interrupt the virtual broadcast, unless otherwise required by law. Anyone with interest in any specific item should plan in person attendance.

Topic: My Meeting
Time: Jun 13, 2023 06:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81074182842?pwd=RHdmWGZUMGpGdXF6c0ZRdVBCSzVYQT09

Meeting ID: 810 7418 2842 Passcode: 280370

Attendance: Larry Southard- Chair, Gary Thomas, Terry Gould, Brandi Page, Larry Gould, Sue Ebitz, Tammy Weidhass & Chris Bouchard. On Zoom- Phil Magovern.

Call to Order: 6:30 PM

Approval of Minutes: Minutes from May 24th were approved as written.

Reconstitute the Board: Larry Southard stated that he felt things are going well and that he would be willing to stay on as Chair if that was what was decided. Terry commented that typically boards rotate and that it sets a good example for other Boards and Committees. There was discussion about Terry also currently being Chair of the Finance Committee. Terry said they are planning to meet next week and she expects to rotate out of the Chairmanship. Gary wanted to clarify that Terry has been Chair of the Finance Committee for three years. Terry confirmed that as new members have come onto FinCom she has remained Chair. Gary made a motion to have Larry remain as Chair. After some discussion, Terry seconded the motion and it passed.

Appointments: The Board went down through the list and made the appointments. See attached. Building Inspector, Highway Superintendent, Police Chief, Police Sergeant, Police F/T Officer, Collector, Accountant and Water Operator transitioned to three-year appointments going forward. The Board reviewed and read aloud Lyn's list of poll workers for Fy24 and approved it.

Town Beach: The Board had hired Michael Diskin as Beach Attendant. He is set to start Saturday. Brandi had reached out to the rep at Ultiplay and had not been able to connect with him yet. This will be continued until our next meeting. Gary wants to consider swings as well.

Year End Transfers: Larry made a motion to approve year end transfers for the Insurance and Snow & Ice budgets. FinCom was fine with them. Motion seconded and passed. See attached.

FY24 Sewer Commitment: The Board approved and signed the FY24 Sewer Commitment. Brandi indicated that the intent with the new customer tying in would be to process an abatement after the tie in to return the fees assessed prior. The Board was fine with that.

Permitting: Brandi had placed this back on the agenda for more discussion. The Building Inspector is looking at Simplicity as well as Permit Eyes for online permitting software. A few things are still being weighed out. Also continued is the discussion of the increase to plumbing and electric fees. Still being looked at is how and when inspectors would be paid in the new system. Recommendation will be made at the next meeting.

Recent & Upcoming Events: Terry attended the farewell at the School for Rob Putnam and Eric Jesner. She had also attended a training for Select Board members last week in Devons. She said there was a lot of good information and some round table exercises.

Review & Approval of Warrants: Payroll and vendor warrants are on the table for signature.

Not Anticipated: Sue Ebitz said she is excited at the prospect of new things at the Town Beach. Chris Bouchard stated DEP is looking for the final reports on the demo debris hauled from the Erbe site.

Adjournment: 7:21 PM

Last Name	First Name	Position	Term	Term Expiration
Moretz	Jill	Board of Registrars	3	June 30, 2026
Wilusz	James	BOH Agent	1	June 30, 2024
		BRPC. Delegate	1	
Danko	Gary	Building Insp. Asst.	1	June 30, 2024
Gould	Larry	Building Inspector	3	June 30, 2026
		Celebration Committee	1	June 30, 2024
		Celebration Committee	1	June 30, 2024
	Celebration Committee		1	June 30, 2024
		Celebration Committee	1	June 30, 2024
Bouchard	Christopher	Civil Def. Director Asst.	1	June 30, 2024
Phair	Richard	Civil Defense Director 1		June 30, 2024
Devoti	Elsie	COA 3		June 30, 2026
Bell	Eila	COA 3		June 30, 2026
Hawley	Janice	COA Vacancy	1	June 30, 2024
Meyer	Roger	Conservation Commission	3	June 30, 2026
Sarnacki	David	Conservation Commission	3	June 30, 2026
Cole	Jennifer	Conservation Com Alt 1		June 30, 2024
Nelson	Lauren	Constable	1	June 30, 2024
Gonska	Adam	Constable	1	June 30, 2024
Weidhaas	Tammy	Constable	1	June 30, 2024
McDonough	Kristopher	Constable	1	June 30, 2024
Santana		Constable	1	June 30, 2024
Whiting III	Miguel Charles	Constable	1	June 30, 2024
Tolopko	Arlene			
	5/4 (WC133A135A413C040)	Cultural Council	3	June 30, 2026
Fogel	Deborah	Cultural Council	3	June 30, 2026
D'Orazio	Lisa	Election Clerk	1	June 30, 2024
Lombardo	Carol	Election Warden	1	June 30, 2024
Middleton	Anthony	lections (Inspect/Deputy Warder	1	June 30, 2024
Anthony	Mark	ons (Inspector/Deputy Clerk) VA	1	June 30, 2024
		Energy Committee	1	
		Energy Committee	1	
		Energy Committee	1	
		Energy Committee	1	
		Energy Committee	1	
		Energy Committee	1	
		Energy Committee	1	
Conboy	John (Jack)	Field Driver	1	June 30, 2024
Phair	Richard	Fire Chief	1	June 30, 2024
Bouchard	Christopher	Fire Chief Asst.	1	June 30, 2024
Phair	Richard	Forest Fire Warden	1	June 30, 2024
Poirier	Derek	Highway Superintendent	3	June 30, 2026
Watman	Celeste	Historic Commission	3	June 30, 2026
Gelburd	Gail	Historic Commission	3	June 30, 2026
Ragusa	Tom	Historical Commission Alt	1	June 30, 2024
		MLP Manager		June 30, 2024
	Mark	Plumbing Insp. Asst.	1	June 30, 2024

Middleton	Brian	Plumbing Inspector	1	June 30, 2024
McDonough	Kris	Police Chief 3		June 30, 2026
Weidhass	Tammy	Police Sergeant		June 30, 2026
Whiting	Charles III	Police Officer	1	June 30, 2024
Santana	Miguel	Police Officer	3	June 30, 2026
Gonska	Adam	Police Officer	1	June 30, 2024
Nelson	Lauren	Police Officer	1	June 30, 2024
Peterson	Wendy	Rec Commision	3	June 30, 2026
Pustinger	Dana	Rec Commision 3		June 30, 2026
O'Neil	Keith	Safety Officer	1	June 30, 2024
Gray	Heather	Sanitation Inspector	1	June 30, 2024
Nikituk	Laurie	Scholarship Committee	3	June 30, 2026
		Technology Committee	1	
		Technology Committee	1	
		Technology Committee	1	
		Technology Committee	1	
		Technology Committee VAC	1	
McClellan	Margaret	Town Accountant	3	June 30, 2026
Duris	Destiny	Town Collector	3	June 30, 2026
Pollard	Jeremia	Town Counsel	1	June 30, 2024
Beasley	Thomas	Veteran's Agent	1	June 30, 2024
O'Neil	Keith	Water Operator	3	June 30, 2026
Reynolds	Jay	Wire Inspector	1	June 30, 2024
Kimberley	Robert	Wire Inspector Asst.	1	June 30, 2024
Kauffman	James	ZBA	5	June 30, 2028
Ward	Travis	ZBA Associate	1	June 30, 2024
Middleton	Gordon	ZBA Associate 1		June 30, 2024

June 14, 2023

Re: FY23 Year End Transfers

Town Accountant,

The Selectboard, with the approval of the Finance Committee, unanimously approved the following FY23 year-end transfers at their posted meeting last night.

Vote to transfer \$7,700.00 from 01.912.5170.000000 Unemployment Benefits to 01.945.5780.019454 Insurance Contingency.

Vote to transfer \$25,800.00 from 01.422.5118.014221 Highway Regular Salaries to 01.423.5480.014233 Snow & Ice Fuel.

Brandi J. Page

Town Administrator